Turkey Day #1

It’s Thanksgiving weekend! Today we’re having dinner with my hubby’s family. I’ve got my desert all done. I made it yesterday. It’s a pumpkin cheesecake. I made it last year and it went over so well that I figured it would be a safe bet again this year. That and I didn’t think I’d have the time to make 2 pumpkin pies.

It’s strange to have the Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend off. In all my years of working retail I’ve always had to work it. There was usually just no way around it. But this year is different. And this year I didn’t even book it off! Work actually screwed up and there were no managers available to work the early morning shift for Sunday so they just cancelled the shift and rescheduled up later in the week. Not like it would have interfered with my plans since I’d only be working until 10 am any ways. Still it was nice sleeping in until 7 am and not having to go into work.

Since I was feel relaxed and domestic, I decided I’d make my pumpkin pie for Turkey Day #2 (with my side of the family tomorrow). I gathered all my ingredients and started mixing. But then I hit a road block. My brown sugar had solidified. There was no salvaging it. It was gone. This happened at about 8:30 am. Grocery store doesn’t open until 9. Yes, I made a trip to the grocery store. I wasn’t the only one there. I actually showed up about 2 mins before they opened and there was a line up. I was surprised. I suppose I shouldn’t be, but I was.

I grabbed my brown sugar, and some bread before our had gone moldy. I thought I saw one of my old co-workers there shopping and I shouted out her name. Nope, wasn’t her. Just someone who looked and awful lot like her. I was saddened. I miss Irma. She was awesome to work with.

Once I got home, I went back to baking. My spicy pumpkin pie is baking and the apartment smells like heaven!

before photo

One thought on “Turkey Day #1

Leave a Reply

