Kids Say the Funniest Things

I had an amusing visit with my niece and nephew earlier this week. My nephew has this huge fascination with firefighters. Heck, the kid loves to watch Chicago Fire and actually knows the names of all the characters! Just an FYI, my nephew is only 3 years old. Any ways, within minutes of my dad and I showing up he’s changed into his fireman’s costume because he has to fight fires. This has been going on for probably close to a year, maybe longer.

I asked him if he wanted to be a pilot, like his daddy, when he grows up. I knew his answer already, but it’s just to adorable to listen to him. He said no! He’s going to be a fireman! Because firemen are better. I said being a pilot is pretty cool too because you can fly to different places. Wanna hear his reason why firemen are better than pilots?

“What if there’s a fire on the runway? You need firemen to put it out!”

Well, he has a point there. I’ll give him that. But it’s just so amazing how passionate he is about being a fireman. I really don’t think this is going to be a phase for me. I really think this is what he’ll end up being. I remember when I was a kid, every week I was changing my mind on what I wanted to be. I wanted to be a teacher, a singer, a dancer, a veterinarian, an astronaut, a policewoman, etc…

My niece apparently wants to be an “ambulance driver.” Although my nephew corrected her and said “No, you want to be a paramedic.” Have I told you he’s only 3? Yea, a 3 year old telling his older sister that it’s not called an “ambulance driver” but a paramedic.

In other, semi-related news, my brother has finally completed his Phase II training in Moose Jaw! Which means he’ll be home in time for Thanksgiving! They should have been done sooner, but when the weather isn’t cooperating they can’t fly, and if they can’t fly they can’t move on. But it’s done, he went through air frame selections (or something like that?). We all figured my brother would pick fast jets (like the CF-18) and he almost did. But He really wants to do multi-engine, like the Aurora or the Herc. AKA big ass mother planes! I think his next phase of training in next spring so he’ll be home for awhile, which I’m sure the kids will love!

If I get in for AVN or AVS, I don’t know what air frame I’d like to work on…I know I don’t want copters. I’ve never really been interesting in helicopters. I would say turbo-engine like the CF-18 but there’s a good chance I’d end up in Cold Lake, which lives up to it’s name….Or in Bagotville, which is in Quebec. My french is a bit rusty….I can’t carry conversation. I can pick up a few words here and there, but yea….Oh well, not going to dwell on that as my future is all up in the air at this point! Nothing is set in stone. I still need to get accepted first! So I’m not going to worry about that for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

