Learin’ New Stuff

I began my new training at work for magazines. I’m so glad it’s only temporary. I don’t think I could do it all the time. Well it’s only 2 shifts a week, but it’s 2 shifts of hell. If you’ve ever been to the magazine section at Chapters, you know how disorganized it can get. Customers have this tendency to pick up a magazine, read it and just toss it aside. They don’t even bother to try and put it back where it belongs.

It’s very tedious work. And it lacks logic. Well they send us so many copies of one magazine and we can’t get them all out. So we end up returning about half of what we’re sent. And then while we’re putting away the massive pile of magazines that people haven’t bothered to put back we find so many mags that need to be returned because they’re past their display date.

I don’t know, I just don’t like it. But they want me trained on it so I can train the new guy. Personally, even though he’s new, they might as well train him now. Instead they want me to train him in a few weeks on how to do it. My manager asked me the other day how I was enjoying it. I said straight up I don’t like it. I miss working with general merch. She said she was sorry, but it’s only temporary she promises.

The sad thing is that there’s a good chance that by the time I hand over the reins to the new guy I may have a new job offer with the CF. I’m so dreading telling my manager when the day comes. And it will be sad to say good-bye. This is the job I’ve been after for YEARS! Seriously, I’ve been trying since 2007 to get a job as a merchandiser. Now I have it, but now I may also have to give it up for an even better career. The CF is my first choice. There are no if’s, and’s, or but’s about it. I have invested a lot into my application that I’m seeing this through to the end, which will hopefully be in 20 some odd years when I want to retire 🙂

Leave a Reply

