Still Waiting

My hubby and I headed downtown yesterday to Sunfest. For those of you unfamiliar, every year my town hosts many weekend events throughout the summer. This weekend is Sunfest, a festival that celebrates multiculturalism. There’s food vendors and performers from just about every corner of the globe! This weekend the weather seems to be extremely cooperative. normally we’re stuck with it being hot and humid. But I’m getting off topic.

We walked around a bit, bought some flavoured soy beans from the Bean Ladies. So YUMMY!!! I didn’t really get a chance to look at the booths with many of them being so crowded. And then their was this band marching through the park and slowed everything down. They were great, don’t get me wrong, but I don’t like walking at a snails pace…and you couldn’t really walk around them either.

But we still left happy! We enjoyed ourselves. It was nice to sit in the park, enjoy the weather, the sights and sounds.

I stopped at the Recruiting Centre while I was in the neighbourhood. I wanted to check on my CF application. I’d checked last month and nothing had really changed. Well guess what? Nothing has really changed. Although the guy I spoke to said it was odd that they hadn’t heard back from Garda about my references yet. He said normally when they get them, it takes about a week, two tops. But it wasn’t all disappointment. He said they still had lots of open spot for the my trade choices and that hopefully soon they can call me in for my medical and interview.

So it’s looking if I do get in I’ll probably be gone come September or October. Which is a blessing and a curse. It’s bad because it means I will miss my cousin’s wedding, and I want to be there for it. I was supposed to be in it. I’ve talked to my cousin about my situation and I’ve stepped down from being in the bridal party. I do feel really bad about it. I honestly didn’t want to, but at the same time I didn’t want to risk spending close to $300 on a dress that chances are I may never get the chance to wear.

The dress is $179, but I’d have to order it a size larger because my hips are apparently wider than my chest. Then that would mean having to get it altered in the bust because I’m not very busty. Also it would need to be hemmed about 2 inches. I’d easy be spending close to $100 on alterations alone. I’m not over exaggerating, I worked in a bridal salon I know these things. Then, even if I didn’t get to wear it, there’s a no refund policy, so I’d have to exchange it for something else in store and lets be honest, I don’t have much use for $200 dresses. I don’t go to many “fancy” events. So to make the dress wearable I’d have to spend about $80 to get it cut to a cocktail length. Oh yea, this is a floor length dress. Oh and did I mention the colour? Biscotti. I’m very fair in skin tone and I’m blond-ish. Biscotti on me is a no-go.

Speaking on hair, I found a bunch of white hairs on the top of my head. Yup, I’m 28 and I’m going white! I’m not upset, I’m glad they’re white and not grey! I just didn’t think it would happen this soon. I figured maybe when I hit my 40’s or 50’s. My mom didn’t start getting white hair until around age 50. But then again, one of my mom’s sisters apparently went white in her later 20’s-early 30’s. It just feels weird.

One thought on “Still Waiting

Leave a Reply

