Writer’s Block!

So I tried to start my story last night. It was hard. I didn’t know where to begin. I didn’t know how I wanted to start my story off. It’s been so long since I’ve actually sat down and tried to write. Figuring out that opening line was the worst part. I’m still not 100% happy with how it sounds. There’s a good chance I maybe just scrap it.

I think part of my problem is the amount of distractions I have around here. There’s the noise from outside, there my cat who keeps interrupting me and my hubby isn’t helping much either. I love him to pieces but I can’t carry out a conversation when I’m trying to think and write. I can’t multitask like that. I need to focus. When I’m typing it means “Please Do Not Disturb.”

Maybe I should start wearing my headphones, that would probably help. It would certainly help drown out all the sounds. Like right now there’s a kid throwing a temper tantrum outside. It’s hard to focus. Even while typing out a blog post!

I think I just have to remember my old routine for writing when I was younger. I’m pretty sure that involved listening to really loud music. Hmmm….that gives me an idea….maybe I should compile a soundtrack for my story? Pick a song for each major event or significant scene, listen to that on repeat until said part is complete. That may actually work…

I need to work on my descriptions though. Last night I just wanted to get the gist of my story going that I completely overlooked my descriptions. But now I’m worried I may over-do it and draw things out too much. I don’t want to turn this into the Two Towers where Tolkien spent nearly 100 pages describing Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli running through the land searching for Merry and Pippin. I don’t want my readers to get bored, but I want to be able to paint a clear picture for them. Blarg.

Leave a Reply

