Inequality

It’s funny, being a white women is actually a disadvantage when looking for a new job in the retail sector. You can call me crazy all you like, but I’ve noticed this trend on the rise. Employers want to seem “fair” by giving new-comers a chance. And yes, that’s “fair,” but at the same time it’s not.

Case and point: One of my co-workers from a previous job came to Canada from Ethiopia. Where it would take serious luck for most people to land a single job, she gets 2. It’s the pity factor. She had no retail experience at all. She’s a great girl, and does her job well but at the same time if she was white and Canadian, chances are she wouldn’t have been hired for either of the jobs.

Then just a few weeks ago she gets a full time job working for a cosmetics counter at a major department store. She got the job only because the manager there was good friends with one of her other managers. She has no experience with cosmetics. Heck, she doesn’t even know how to wear much make-up (she confessed to me). So how does that qualify her for a job selling and educating customers about make-up products?

Even at my last job working at a bridal salon, I felt like a minority. Most of my co-workers weren’t white or even Canadian citizens. I’m not trying to be racist, but these are the facts. I’m all for equality but an employer should look at your qualifications first, not your skin-tone or nationality. Employers need to stop the pity train. So they have a sob story, but so do I. I’ve been screwed over by 3 companies in the past 3 years, I have lots of retail experience why not give me a chance?

This is what I mean by inequality. Never would I have thought I’d be considered a minority, but I feel that way when job hunting.

I didn’t want to go on a rant about this, but I read an article the other day about McDonalds being sued or something for hiring temporary foreign workers. They (McD’s) had been giving them priority for hours and pay raises over local employees (you know, the ones who are actually Canadian). One woman had been with the company for over 20 years and was forced to take a huge pay cut and lose hours so they could employ more temporary foreign workers. Things like that should never happen.

Leave a Reply

