Saw that coming

Well I got an e-mail today from a job I applied to. I had an interview with them on the phone and then in person last week. I didn’t feel good about the whole interview process. So I was not surprised to get this:

Dear Sarah,

It was a pleasure getting to know you a little better.

The H&M team appreciates having the opportunity to speak with talented individuals who are passionate about the fashion business. After careful consideration, however, we will not be moving forward with your application at this stage.

Thank you for speaking with us and please do know that your interest in H&M means a lot to us.

Best of luck in moving forward in your career.

Regards,

H&M Recruitment

A few things I noticed that gave me the impression I wouldn’t land the job. First, the average age of the employees there were probably in their early 20’s. Whereas I’m 28, not so “young” anymore. On my resume all the jobs I have on there were either key holder or assistant manager. When you’re applying for “sales advisor” aka sales associate, you’re often deemed over-qualified. Even the manager, who didn’t even conduct the interview, just asked me a few questions at the end. He even stated that he’s “hesitant” to hire candidates with a “mature” resume. Not mature as in age, but because they have more management-like experience.

Then there was my interviewer, who hasn’t done many interviews herself. She even said so. First, I was better dressed than she was. I don’t know what she was thinking when she got ready for work. Her ensemble was pretty bad considering she works in a clothing store, especially one that’s supposed to be up-to-date with all the fashion trends. She was probably also much younger than me, and that’s saying a lot because I generally look like I’m in my early 20’s. I’m often mistaken for being only 21.

I’m actually kind of glad I didn’t get the job. I don’t think I’d be happy there, truly happy there.

I think what bothers me the most about this whole experience is why did they waste my time? If having key holder and management experience makes you “over-qualified” for sales associate, why bother contacting me? Why waste my time if you know there’s a good chance I’m not going to get the job?

Well, I guess I can’t shop there anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

