On the Mend

So I don’t want to jinx myself completely, but I think I’m not as sick as I was before. I think I’m on the mend. Today has been better. I haven’t had to take any cold medicine. All I’ve had so far is one Halls lozenge, honey-lemon-ginseng-green tea, and a teaspoon of honey. I’m trying to take the more natural approach to making myself better. As well as some vitamins to help boost my body. I’ve had no coughing fits, my throat isn’t sore, but my head is still congested.

So here’s to hoping that I can start working out again! Yay!

Speaking of working out, apparently the Canadian Forces are changing their fitness testing at BMQ. They have for the past 30 yrs gone by the EXPRES test. Now they’re switching to something called the FORCE test. The EXPRES test involved having to do push ups, sit ups, running and a hand grip test. The FORCE test is a bit different. ItĀ evaluates one’s ability to execute tasks that are directly linked to true-to-life physical challenges faced on military operations.

The FORCE Evaluation consists of four test components, each designed to measure different physical capabilities:

Sandbag Lift: 30 consecutive lifts of a 20 kilogram sandbag above a height of 1 metre, alternating between left and right sandbags separated by 1.25 metres. Standard: 3 minutes 30 seconds.

Intermittent Loaded Shuttles: Using the 20 metre lines, complete ten 20 metre shuttles alternating between a loaded shuttle with a 20 kilogram sand bag and unloaded shuttles, for a total of 400 metres. Standard: 5 minutes 21 seconds.

20-Metre Rushes: Starting from prone, complete two 20 metre shuttle sprints dropping to a prone position every 10 metres, for a total of 80 metres. Standard: 51 seconds.

Sandbag Drag: Carry one 20 kilogram sandbag and pull four on the floor over 20 metres without stopping. Standard: Complete without stopping.

To me, this seems more doable. I suck at push-ups, so I’m glad I wont have to do that, but at the same time, this is a lot of running…and I hate time limits >_< I mean I can probably do these, but knowing I have to do it within a certain time frame terrifies me.

Leave a Reply

