Application Process

Here’s a breakdown of the application process I get to go through! It’s seems very daunting, lots of steps. But I have faith this will all work out.

Getting started: Things you need to know BEFORE you start the process

There are some obvious qualifications everyone must meet before enlisting. First, you need to be a Canadian citizen (duh). Second, you must be 18 yrs old (17 with parental consent), or 16 if you’re going through regular officer training. Third, you must have completed grade 10 or Secondaire IV (Quebec). These are the absolute minimum requirements. Some careers will require further education, and those are listed on the jobs page.

Medical Standard:

Applicants should be prepared to have a complete medical examination done. The medical exam is necessary to determine if there are any medical restrictions that may limit career choices. My brother had to go through a lot of medical testing/exams, but he’s going to be a pilot, so for something like that you need to have good vision, good reflexes and physically, your body has to be within certain proportions. My brother had told us that at one round of testing that another applicant was sent packing because his legs were too long. If he ever had to eject out of a cockpit, chances are his legs would get severed. From the careers I’ve chosen, I don’t think there should be any issues for me.

General Appearance:

At the beginning of basic training, all new recruits are provided with the official dress-standards for military members. Here is an overview:

  • Non-offensive visible tattoos, except tattoos on the face, are allowed.
  • Aboriginal members may request to wear long hair or braids while on-duty, but only if there are no safety concerns.
  • Women members are required to keep their hair short or long enough to keep tied back while on duty so it does not obstruct vision or become a danger.
  • Women are allowed to wear earrings while on duty, but they must be small stud-style earrings. However, other visible body piercings are not allowed to be worn while in uniform.
  • Women may wear make-up while in uniform, but it must be applied conservatively.

I don’t think I’ll have any issues with this. I don’t have any tattoos, my hair is short and I like it that way, I don’t wear earnings on a daily basis and nor do I have any facial piercings, and I like to keep my make-up light already (usually just concealer and mascara).

Leave a Reply

