The Oscars

Oh the Oscars, a semi-guilty pleasure of mine! I mostly watch it for the fashion and so see what the elitists in Hollywood think we, the masses, should worship. I don’t always agree with who wins. A lot of the time you can tell that the Academy has no clue what they’re thinking when it comes to choosing the winners.  I’m not going to go too indepth about the Oscars, as that will probably bore most of you. I’m just going to give a quick rundown of random stuff!

Best Dressed was Lupita, in my opinion. Her gown was simple but so elegant! And the colour looked amazing on her! Other best dressed women include Jennifer Lawrence, Cate Blanchett, Meryl Streep, and Sandra Bullock to name a few.

lupita

Worst Dressed, well there was a lot of people who could fall into this category…Anna Kendrick I think takes the prize. There was just so much wrong with her gown. I think the main issue is it had too much going on. Angelina Jolie, her gown just wasn’t that flattering on her. It looked frumpy. Julia Roberts, I love you but what were you thinking? Jennifer Garner, just too much sparkle. Also I’m not a fan of the whole long, tiered gowns.

anna

For the winner, I think it was very predictable. Honestly I should have made bets about who would win each category because I was right about 95% of the time. I was wrong on 3-5 I think…somewhere around that. Did they deserve to win? Debatable. But then again, I hadn’t really seen many of the nominated films… but judging by what I’ve read and heard from various sources, the results should have been different. I think the biggest upset was Matthew McConaughey beating Leonardo DiCaprio for Best Actor. I think we all died a little when Leo lost yet again. And I think what really irks me and a lot of other people is that Matthew does 1 “serious” film and suddenly he wins an Oscar for Best Actor. Whereas Leo is a chameleon. He morphs and because his characters, he brings such depth and presence. He truly deserves and Oscar.

Lastly, I love Ellen. I think she did a wonderful job hosting the Oscars this year. I hope she’s back again next year.

 

Leave a Reply

