Life Changing Choices

In reality, every choice we make is a “life changing” choice. Once you make a choice, it alters your path in life. It may be a small choice, like what to eat for lunch or something bigger like what career should I pursue?

I’m making one of those choices now. Well, I’m in the process of making that choice. And just what choice is that? Career! I know it may seem late in life for me to be doing this, but I had hoped I’d be in a different situation in life 10 years ago. I have 2 college diplomas and I sadly can’t do anything with them.

My first diploma is in Fashion Merchandising, but honestly there are no jobs in my field (Visual Merchandising). Well none that I’m “qualified” for. Every business is looking for candidates with 3+ years of actual merchandising experience. I unfortunately only have 2 years in college, plus my co-op and my pathetic experience with a department store that set me up for failure. That’s still not enough for these employers.

So I moved on. I went back to college and took Photography. I was a great experience. I learned so much and met some really amazing people. But after college, starting up your own business is so difficult. Especially when the market is so over-saturated with fauxtographers. For those of you who don’t know what a “fauxtographer” is, it’s someone who invests in a fancy camera, has very little experience/knowledge of photography but offers to photography weddings for super cheap. They kill aspiring wedding photographers. It’s hard to stand out from them because brides will always go with the cheapest option or the most well-known photographer, if they have a big budget.

Here I am, almost 4 years since I graduated from Photography and I still got nothing. I almost had a wedding to shoot this spring, but the bride was so demanding and I was was very flexible for what she wanted. However, it apparently wasn’t enough. They found someone else. Most likely a fauxtographer, given what they wanted.

Well now I’m making one of those big, life changing choices. Something that will alter my life completely. I’m going to apply for the Canadian Forces. Yes, you read that correctly. I’m joining the military! There’s a few fields I’ve been looking at. The main one is Image Tech, but unfortunately they’re not hiring for that right now. An Image tech is basically a photographer for the Forces. Perfect job for me! But alas, I’ll have to settle for something else. The other fields I’m looking at are Traffic Tech, Supply tech, and Avionic Systems Tech. The last one kinda surprised me. I only looked into it because it’s listed as in high demand. But it sounds like an interesting career path,and thanks to my dad taking me to airshows my whole life and educating me in aircraft, I think this would be a really interesting job to have. It allows me to be hands on and get my hands dirty. I also really like the Traffic Tech job too. I could be one of those people who does supply drops! Hanging out the back end of a Hercules, dropping supplies… how exciting!

But before I can do my application I need to get in shape. My upper body strength is shite. There is no way I can do a single push-up. The running bit I think I’d be fine with, now that I know how to properly run. And yes, there is a proper way. Well a proper way to breathe while running, which makes running a lot easier. God I wish I knew that when I was younger! the key is in inhale through your nose and exhale through your mouth. I went from being about to run for maybe 1 min to going for almost 10 mins! And that was just form changing how I breathe!

This choice will change my future forever. There’s no looking back after I do this. I’m excited for the challenge! I’m excited to start this new chapter in my life!

Leave a Reply

